WA-List » Garfield County

Garfield County


  • Name origin: Named for James A. Garfield (1831—81), 20th President of the United States (1881)
  • Established: 1881 Nov 29
  • County seat: Pomeroy
  • County government website
  • Upcoming events (via WA-List’s events calendar)
  • Population (2010): 2,266 (Rank: 39 of 39)
  • Area (2010): 710.69 square miles (Rank: 33 of 39)
  • Density (2010): 3.2 people per square miles (Rank: 39 of 39)
  • Highest elevation: 6,379 feet, Diamond Peak..


Cities and Towns Incorp. Population Area Density Elevation Zip code
(sq miles) (pop/sq miles) (feet)
1. Pomeroy city 1886 1,425 1.78 800.6 1,856 99347

Additional facts

  • Garfield County is one of six Washington counties with only one incorporated city.
  • Garfield has the smallest population and the smallest population density in the state.
  • There is a town named Garfield in Washington, but ironically it is not in Garfield County.  It’s in Whitman County.


  • This page is updated periodically in an effort to keep information accurate and offer additional data.
  • = link to map
  • All population and area data are from the 2010 United States Census. All population density figures for cities greater than 5,000 people are as well. Densities of smaller towns and cities were calculated separately using US Census data.