WA-List » Boys in the Hall

Boys in the Hall

Published by Steve Campion. Category: Sports & Recreation

One Hall of Fame entered, one to go.

That’s the general consensus after former baseball star Ken Griffey Jr was inducted into the Seattle Mariners Hall of Fame this evening.  Griffey was not merely one of Seattle‘s best athletes.  He was one the best to ever play the game of baseball.  Period.  The Hall of Fame in Cooperstown will likely call him in a few more years.

The Seattle Mariners Hall of Fame was created in 1997 with the induction of Alvin Davis, Seattle’s first national star.  Davis won American League Rookie of the Year honors in 1984, and took home the team MVP in 1984, 1988, and 1989.  Over the next several years, Davis welcomed new teammates destined to be stars and Hall of Famers themselves: Edgar Martinez in 1987, Jay Buhner in 1988, and both Ken Griffey Jr and Randy Johnson in 1989.  With Dave Niehaus in the broadcast booth, six of the seven current member of the Mariners Hall of Fame were together for a time, 1989-1991.  A slightly different combination of six future Hall of Famers were in Seattle 1994-1998, after Davis retired and Wilson joined the team.  That era included the Mariners’ “Refuse to Lose” season (1995) and the first trips into the postseason.  Three current Hall of Famers — we expect more to be added — were on the record-breaking 116-win season (2001): Buhner, Martinez, and Wilson.

There are many remarkable feats, awards, statistics, and memories involving these seven men, but today we simply list their names and careers.  A Hall of Fame berth is award enough.


Hall of Famer Primary Position Mariners’ career Inducted
Alvin Davis First Baseman 1984-1991 1997 Jun 14
Dave Niehaus Broadcaster 1977-2010 2000 May 7*
Jay Buhner Outfielder 1988-2001 2004 Aug 24
Edgar Martinez Designated Hitter 1987-2004 2007 Jun 2
Randy Johnson Pitcher 1989-1998 2012 Jul 28
Dan Wilson Catcher 1994-2005 2012 Jul 28
Ken Griffey Jr Outfielder 1989-1999,
2013 Aug 10

*In 2008, Dave Neihaus was awarded the Ford C. Frick Award by the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY.


Comments are closed.